PPP forms panel for Constitution’s golden jubilee celebrations

Asim Yasin
Tuesday, Jan 24, 2023

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) on Monday announced the names of members of the committee formed for the golden jubilee celebrations of 1973 Constitution.

The committee will be headed by former Senate chairman Senator Mian Raza Rabbani as convener and the other members include ex-senator Farhatullah Babar, Senator Syed Waqar Mehdi, Chaudhry Manzoor Ahmed, Barrister Masood Kausar, Sardar Umar Gorgage, Habib Ullah Shakir. Besides, all provincial presidents and president People’s Lawyers Forum will be ex-officio members of the committee.

A few days back, PPP Chairman and Foreign Minister Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari had appointed former Senate chairman Senator Mian Raza Rabbani as the convener of the committee to celebrate the golden jubilee of 1973 Constitution.

It is expected that Rabbani will convene the maiden meeting of the committee within next few days. The Central Executive Committee of the PPP, during its meeting on January 5, had decided to celebrate the year 2023 as golden jubilee of Constitution 1973 and hold events in this regard throughout the country.