Pakistan Women defeat NZ by 7 wickets in first T20I

News Desk
Monday, Dec 04, 2023

DUNEDIN: The Girls in Green shined after claiming victory against New Zealand in thefirst T20I match by seven wickets at the University of Otago Oval, Dunedin.

Fatima Sana, with her smooth bowling prowess, alongside other bowlers, restricted the Kiwis from scoring a big score, giving just 3 wickets off 18 runs. Shawal Zulfiqar, meanwhile, led the team towards a win with her batting skills scoring 41 runs off 42 balls as the team pursued a chasable 128-run target.

The team played cautiously without losing any wickets in the early overs, knowing well that the target would be easier to chase.Muneeba Ali was the first victim to New Zealand as she lost her wicket after scoring 23 off 24 with four boundaries.

After losing the first wicket, Shawal and skipper Nida Dar stayed on the crease and built a 51-run partnership before losing their wickets in quick successions.Pakistan were 93-3 in 13.5 overs when hard-hitter Aliya Riaz and Bismah Maroof came to the crease and their unbeaten 39-run stand took the team over the line as Riaz finished the game with a maximum. Batting first, the New Zealand batters were consistently troubled by Fatima, who removed both openers in the first eight overs.

The home side looked helpless against the Pakistani bowling attack and with never-ending struggle, could only score 127-6 in the allocated overs.Maddy Green was the host’s top-scorer as the right-handed batter scored 43 off 28 with five boundaries but her valiant effort went in vain.


New Zealand: Sophie Devine ©, Kate Anderson, Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Eden Carson (T20I only), Izzy Gaze (ODI & 1st T20I), Maddy Green, Fran Jonas, Melie Kerr, Jess Kerr, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu.

Pakistan: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig,

Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Sidra Amin, Umm-e-Hani, and Waheeda Akhtar..