ECP announces results of 264 NA constituencies amid legal fights

Our Correspondent
Monday, Feb 12, 2024

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Sunday completed the process of announcement of provisional results of the constituencies of National Assembly and four provincial assemblies amid frantic moves by political parties for formation of governments.

Several petitions have also landed at relevant forums, challenging the results of elections conducted on February 8 across the country amid suspension of internet and mobile phone service. However, with this development, the pace of political contacts and get-together has dramatically increased as well.

The results of 264 constituencies of the National Assembly have also been announced, showing independent candidates pocketing 101 seats, followed by PML-N winning 75 seats, PPP 54 seats, MQM 17, JUI-F four and other parties 13 seats. Polling in one constituency NA-8 was postponed due to the death of a contesting candidate, while re-polling has been ordered in some polling stations of NA-88.

The PML won three NA seats while Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party and Balochistan National Party won two seats each. Apart from this, one seat each was won by Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, Pakistan Muslim League-Zia, National Party, Pashtunkhwa National Awami Party Pakistan, Balochistan Awami Party and Majlis Wahdat-ul-Muslimeen.

At the provincial front, the Election Commission has declared the provisional results of 296 out of 297 seats in the Punjab Assembly, whereas election to PP-266 constituency of Rahim Yar Khan have been postponed.

Independent candidates won 138 out of 296 seats in the Punjab Assembly, while the PML-N became the majority party in the provincial assembly with its 137 candidates winning. Likewise, the PPP won 10 seats, PML eight, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan, Pakistan Muslim League (Zia) and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) won one seat each. Provisional results of Sindh Assembly have also been announced for 129 out of the total 130 general seats, whereas the results of PS-18 Ghotki constituency have been withheld, as re-polling has been ordered in some polling stations on February 15.

The PPP has emerged as the largest party in the province with 84 seats in the Sindh Assembly, followed by MQM with 28 seats, independent candidates 13 seats, Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) and Jamaat-e-Islami with two seats each.

Likewise, the provisional results of 112 out of 115 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly’s general seats have been announced and polling for PS-22 and PS-91 was postponed while the results of PS-90 have been withheld.

According to unofficial results, the independent candidates have won 90 seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, while Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (Pakistan) stands second by winning seven seats, PML-N has won five seats, PPP four seats, Jamaat-e-Islami three, PTI Parliamentarians two and Awami National Party (ANP) has won one seat.

The Election Commission declared the provisional results of all the 51 seats in the Balochistan Assembly, where PPP and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (Pakistan) have won 11 seats each, while the PMLN has won 10 seats.

Independent candidates won six seats, Balochistan Awami Party four, National Party three and Awami National Party two seats, Balochistan National Party (Mengal), Balochistan National Party (Awami), Jamaat-e-Islami and Haq Do Tehreek won one seat each.

Meanwhile, this time around, 11 female candidates also returned to the National Assembly, winning general seats. Four women got elected as independent candidates and four who won belonged to the PMLN, two candidates were from PPP and one seat went to Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) female candidate.

Independent candidates Shandana Gulzar won from NA-30 Peshawar constituency, Anika Mehdi won from NA-67 Hafizabad, Ayesha Nazir from NA-156, Zartaj Gul from NA-185 Dera Ghazi Khan, PMLN candidate Syeda Nausheen Iftikhar from NA-73 Daska, PMLN candidate Shazra Muqam Ali Khan Kharal from NA-112 Nankana and PMLN candidate Maryam Nawaz Sharif from NA-119, Tehmina Daulatana of PMLN from NA-158 Vehari, PPP’s Dr Nafisa Shah from NA-202 Khairpur, PPP’s Shazia Atta Marri from NA-209 and MQM-P candidate Asiya Ishaq Siddiqui from NA-232 Karachi.

Independent candidate Jamal Ahsan Khan has bagged a record 217,424 votes from Mianwali’s NA-89, inflicting the heaviest defeat on his rival Obaidullah Khan, who could get only 34,068 votes. Turnout in this constituency was 54.49 percent and 7,693 votes were rejected too.