PPP gets 26 reserved seats, MQM eight in Sindh Assembly

Our Correspondent
Friday, Feb 23, 2024

The Pakistan Peoples Party has secured a total of 26 seats reserved in the Sindh Assembly for women and religious minorities as being the single largest party in the house.

According to the notifications issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday, eight reserved seats in the house went to Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan, while the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) could secure only one reserved seat.

Some 20 candidates of the PPP have been elected against the seats reserved in the house for women. The PPP’s candidates elected on seats reserved for women are: Seema Khurram, Tanzila Umi Habiba, Rehana Laghari, Bibi Yaseem Shah, Nuzhat Pathan, Syeda Marvi Faseeh, Sadia Javed, Farzana Hanif, Sajeela, Hina Dastagir, Rukhsana Perveen, Heer Soho, Nida Khuhro, Saima Agha, Rooma Sabahat, Arooba Rabbani, Khairunisa, Maleeha Manzoor, Shazia Umar, Shaheena.

The MQM-Pakistan secured six seats in the house for women. The MPAs-elect of the MQM-Pakistan on reserved seats for women are: Sofia Saeed Shah, Sikandar Khatoon, Kiran Masood, Farah Sohail, Qurat Ul Ain Khan, and Bilqees Mukhtar. The MPA-elect on a reserved seat for woman Fozia Kausar belongs to the Grand Democratic Alliance.

Out of eight reserved seats for religious minorities in the Sindh Assembly, the PPP’s candidates got six seats while two of the MPAs-elect belong to the MQM-P. The PPP’s MPAs-elect elected on the reserved seats for religious minorities are: Hamir Singh, Mukesh Kumar Chawla, Giyanoo Mal, Sham Sunder, Khatumal, and Anthony Naveed.

The MQM’s lawmakers-elect elected on the seats reserved for minorities are Mahesh Kumar Hasija and Aneel Kumar. As per the notifications issued by the ECP, 85 MPAs-elect on the general seats of the Sindh Assembly belong to the PPP, 27 MPAs-elect on general seats are from the MQM-Pakistan while the GDA has only two legislators-elect.