Murad becomes Sindh CM for third time in a row

Our Correspondent
Wednesday, Feb 28, 2024

KARACHI: Syed Murad Ali Shah took the oath of office as the new Sindh Chief Minister in a ceremony held at the Governor House on Tuesday.

Shah has assumed the office of provincial chief executive for the consecutive third time. Sindh Governor, Kamran Khan Tessori, administered the oath. Outgoing Caretaker Sindh Chief Minister, Justice (retd) Maqbool Baqar, witnessed the oath-taking.

The ceremony was conducted by the Sindh Chief Secretary Dr Fakhre Alam. The dignitaries who attended the ceremony included Chairman of Pakistan Peoples Party Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PPP leader Faryal Talpur, new Sindh Assembly Speaker Syed Awais Qadir Shah, Deputy Speaker Anthony Naveed, former Speaker Agha Siraj Khan Durrani, former Sindh CM Syed Qaim Ali Shah, former Sindh ministers Sharjeel Memon, Imtiaz Sheikh, Nasir Hussain Shah, diplomats and prominent people from different walks of life. A large number of people from the native constituency of the newly-elected Sindh CM also attended the ceremony.

On his arrival at the Governor House, the PPP chairman was greeted by the newly-elected CM and governor. Before the oath-taking, the Sindh governor, newly elected CM, PPP chairman and Faryal Talpur held a meeting. The Sindh governor was the first one to greet Shah after the oath-taking. Later, the Sindh chief secretary issued the notifications for Shah formally assuming the office of CM and dissolution of the caretaker Sindh cabinet.

Earlier, the outgoing caretaker Sindh CM was given a farewell guard of honour by a contingent of Sindh Police at the CM House. The Sindh chief secretary and provincial secretaries attended the ceremony. A day earlier, Shah won the election for provincial chief executive in Sindh Assembly with a comfortable majority. Shah secured 112 votes while the candidate of Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan, Ali Khursheedi, secured only 36 votes.