ECP issues notice to Gandapur on disqualification plea

Our Correspondent
Wednesday, Mar 13, 2024

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Tuesday issued a notice to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Ali Amin Gandapur on a petition seeking his disqualification for allegedly misleading about a patch of land.

A two-member ECP bench comprising Sindh Member Nisar Ahmad Durrani and Balochistan Member Shah Muhammad Jatoi heard the petition and adjourned the case till March 26.

After the hearing, the bench issued a two-page short order and decided to issue a notice to CM Gandapur, who hails from Dera Ismail Khan.

One Muhammad Kafeel had filed the petition, claiming that 735-kanals of land, situated in Mouzah Girah Muhabbat and Muzah Rohri, Kulachi, District D I Khan, was transferred in the name of Ali Amin Khan Gandapur on temporary basis while Asif Khan was the real owner.

He pointed out in the petition that according to the undertaking given by Gandapur, he was ostensible owner while Asif Khan was sole and absolute owner of the said property which he would return on demand by Asif Khan.

The petitioner said that in liabilities forms furnished for the year 2020 and duly published, Gandapur had allegedly shown purchase of vehicle, Toyota Land Cruiser, YB-777 from the funds which he received from the sale of 735 kanal land. He also contended that on account of such wrong declaration, Gandapur was not qualified to hold the office of member provincial assembly.

With the signatures of ECP Sindh member, the order said, “We have heard preliminary arguments which need consideration on merits. Office to issue notice to respondent No. 5 (Ali Amin Gandapur) for the date fixed through District Election Commissioner concerned. The service report of DEC shall reach to this office before the date fixed. Case to come up on 26.03.2024.”

Gandapur was elected a member of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly from PK-113, D I Khan, in the recently held general elections as a Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed independent candidate, who was subsequently elected as chief minister of the province. His name was selected for the slot by party’s founder chairman Imran Khan.