Opposition alliance poised to start anti-govt drive

Our Correspondent
Saturday, Apr 13, 2024

QUETTA: The opposition alliance starting a formal movement against the government today (Saturday) has named the protest campaign Movement to Protect the Constitution (Tehreek Tahafuz Ayin).

In a meeting of the opposition parties in Quetta on Friday night, the strategy for launching the protest movement and Saturday’s (today) public meeting was decided. Mahmood Khan Achakzai was appointed as the President of “Movement for Protection of Constitution”. BNP Chief Akhtar Mengal, Jamaat-e-Islami acting Amir Liaquat Baloch, MWM chief Raja Nasir Abbas, Sunni Ittehad Council chief Hamid Raza Qadri and Central General Secretary PTI Umar Ayub Khan also attended the meeting of the opposition alliance.

Speaking to the media, Umar Ayub said that a historic meeting of the opposition alliance was held today. He said the name of the opposition movement is “Constitution Protection Tehreek” and its president Mehmood Khan Achakzai is forming a coordination committee for this movement. It was agreed that the next meetings will be held in Lahore under the action plan on April 29. Furthermore, he said they reject the government based on Form 47 and a country which does not follow the Constitution has no future.

Mahmood Khan Achakzai said that the Constitution is a social agreement and they will hold rallies from Sunday to protect it. “We will not abuse anyone, we will talk about the supremacy of the Constitution,” he said.

Talking to the media, Akhtar Mengal said had the movement started 20 years ago, there would not have been any Form 47. He said that political forces and people will play an important role in this movement.

Hamid Raza said that it would prove to be a big movement. The Sunni Ittehad Council will play a leading role in this movement as the main objective is to establish the supremacy of the Constitution. Allama Nasir Abbas said a law of the jungle is prevailing in the country and they are ready to face every difficulty for the supremacy of the Constitution.