Budget 2024-2025: Teachers’ body demands Rs500bn for higher education

Our Correspondent
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

LAHORE:Newly-elected Executive Council of FAPUASA has demanded the federal government allocate a minimum of Rs500 billion for higher education in the upcoming federal budget.

Federation of All Pakistan Universities Academic Staff Association (FAPUASA) President Dr Amjad Abbas Magsi presided over the meeting while General Secretary Dr Muhammad Uzair moderated the proceedings of the meeting which was held online. Dr. Mazhar Iqbal, Vice President, along with presidents, general secretaries, and executive members from provincial chapters participated in the meeting.

The discussions emphasised the urgent necessity for a substantial increase in both federal and provincial budgets and grant-in-aid for universities. The Executive Council urged provincial governments to allocate at least Rs50 billion each in their budgets for universities' recurrent expenses.

The council called upon the provincial governments of Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to promptly disburse grant-in-aid to universities experiencing prolonged salary payment delays. The council resolved to initiate a token demonstration across universities nationwide. These demonstrations will persist until the next council meeting scheduled for May 29, 2024.

GCU ASA office-bearers

The Democratic Group secured a victory in the closely contested Academic Staff Association (ASA) elections at Government College University (GCU) Lahore.

As per the details, the election committee headed by Prof Dr Zaheer ud Din Khan announced the results, with Prof Dr M Nauman Aftab elected as the new President with 178 votes. His opponent, Dr Saima Iram from the Founders Group, received 152 votes.

Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Shazia Bashir congratulated the new President and other elected members. Dr. Ghulam Murtaza Rai was also elected as the General Secretary, Dr Saima Khan as the Vice President (Arts), Dr Shaukat Ali as the Vice President (Science), Dr Sabahat Zahra Siddiqui as the Joint Secretary, and Dr Memuna Shahid as the Finance Secretary.