ECP vacant posts: MPs body shortlists two names each from Punjab, KP

Asim Yasin
Thursday, Nov 25, 2021

ISLAMABAD: The Parliamentary Committee on the Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and members of the Election Commission of Pakistan on Wednesday shortlisted two names each from Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the vacant posts of ECP members.

Although the names of two nominees for the vacant posts from Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were shortlisted, it was also decided to hold another round of meeting next Monday.

The in-camera meeting of the Parliamentary body was held on Wednesday at the Parliament House, which was presided over by its Chairperson Minister for Human Rights Dr Shireen Mazari.

According to reliable sources, the government shortlisted the names of Raja Aamir Khan from Punjab and Justice (retd) Ikramullah from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, while the opposition shortlisted the names of Justice (retd) Tariq Iftikhar from Punjab and Sohail Altaf from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Both the government and the opposition decided to take time to consult their leadership to reach a consensus and meet again on Monday.

Later, while talking with the media persons after the meeting, Senator Azam Tarar of the PMLN said the committee held discussion on the names of candidates and two names each came from the both sides from both the provinces. He said this is a sensitive issue and it has been decided that whatever decision is taken, it will be through a consensus.